GF Fiesta Lime Fish Tacos

Okay, so. Getting back on the horse. I started this blog and posted once, twice and then lost the motivation. But I was missing something- A quality camera to document the foods I was making! I was snapping pictures with my iPhone, which resulted in some less than appealing photos of my work.

Now, I have a lovely camera, and have recently purchased a deal on a photography class from livingsocial.com so soon I will not only have a nice camera, but I’ll actually know how to use it! For now, pictures are okay-ish.

Secret weapon number 2: I got a great deal on two GF cookbooks from Groupon! (Notice a pattern? I have friends that have joked I single-handedly keep these companies afloat. Can’t resist a good deal).

ImageI was so excited when I got these in the mail- they seem pretty legit (in the past I ordered a GF cookbook and was underwhelmed) I am particularly excited about the one on the left, maybe because it is hard cover and has this gorgeous looking loaf of something on the front (Whoops you caught me judging a book by it’s cover. Hey, it happens).

Also side note super excited about the desk calendar I used as backdrop for the books. I hit up Staples yesterday for back to grad school shopping. Not 100% what I am going to need, so I got the basics. Then maybe blacked out a little and got some not-so-basics. But what a high!! There is nothing quite like back to school shopping, starting fresh, getting organized and ready for the new year. I really missed it last year when I took the year off between undergrad and grad. BUT I’M BACK, BACK WITH AN 8 GALLON FLIP-TOP FILE BOX READY TO TAKE ON THE WORLD.

And now to the delicious recipe. For this little experiment, I combined two recipes I love, and substituted wheat tortillas with corn tortillas- that easy. Now, the corn tortillas are a little more crumbly and have a different flavor than the wheat, but it works. Also, for my second helping, I just went without tortilla and ate it with a fork. A naked taco, if you will.

So here are the links to the two recipes I used/blended/hybridized:

http://www.thelondoner.me/2011/11/epic-fish-tacos.html

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/04/fiesta-lime-rice.html

And for your cooking convenience, I put the two together, to form the Frankenstein that is…… Gluten Free Fiesta Lime Fish Tacos!!!! The fish taco recipe was for 2 servings and the fiesta lime rice for 4 so i tweaked the former to increased to 4 servings all around, and swapped out some ingredients. I hope you enjoy!

Gluten Free Fiesta Lime Fish Tacos

Shopping list

8 small fillets white fish (I used tilapia)

Cilantro

Garlic

3-4 limes

Coarse salt

Pepper

2 avocados

1 red onion

GF Corn tortilla wraps (I used Mission brand)

Rice

Can of black beans

Frozen corn

Large tomato

Cherry tomatoes

Scallion

Greek yogurt

Mayonnaise

Hot sauce

For the fish

8 small filets cut into inch wide strips.

1 handful of cilantro

4 cloves garlic

2 limes juiced

6 tbsp Olive oil

1 large pinch of coarse salt

For the rice
1 1/2 cups cooked long grain rice

3/4 cup canned black beans, rinsed

3/4 cup cooked corn (I prefer frozen over canned), heated

1 large tomato, diced

1 large scallion, diced fine

2-4 tbsp chopped cilantro

1 tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice

Salt to taste

For the guacamole

2 avocados

1/2 red onion

1 lime juiced

1 handful cilantro

6 cherry tomatoes

Salt to taste

For the sauce

4 tbsp mayonaise

6 tbsp greek yogurt

Hot sauce to taste

Now to put it all together. First make the marinade for the fish, put the garlic, cilantro (I did a rough chop before tossing it in), olive oil, lime juice and salt in the mortar (pestle? which one is which?)

ImageWow, how pretty does that look? I’m going to let you in on a little secret- you don’t really need one of these bad boys, I’ve done this recipe many a time, just chop up your cilantro and garlic, mix it up with olive oil, lime juice and salt and spread it over the fillets. Or throw all of the above into the bag. I’ll let you in on another secret- this was the first and last time I used this mortar & pestle as the inside wasn’t glazed or sealed or whatever it needs to be to make it easy to clean. And try as I might, I could not scrub out the ground in cilantro. But hey, what can I expect I bought it for $5 in a hut on a beach in the Dominican Republic. Win some lose some on the deals front. But, I digress. Get those fillets marinating and move on to your guac.

I must quickly introduce you to another tool that is not necessary, but I find super useful. As I am a huge avocado fan, I use this tool from Oxo quite often:

Image

One side slices it open, the middle (on the flip side it has little metal teeth) safely removes the pit, and the other side scoops out and sliced up your avocado. Mine is a little bent of shape from use, but still works fine.

Otherwise, just open up those avocados the standard way. Then lightly mash em. Chop up the red onion, tomato and cilantro and mix in. Add lime juice and salt and pepper to taste.

Also, if you have a signature guac recipe, use that. This is a pretty good one, but I feel like guacamole is a flexible food, do with it as you please.

For the sauce mix together the yogurt, mayo and hot sauce to taste. I like a little spice, so I didn’t make it too hot, just a few shakes of the bottle.

For the rice, this is rather easy: combine all ingredients. Toss.

fiesta rice

Throw the fish on the grill. medium-high heat for 4-5 minutes per side, flipping once, or until cooked through, should be flaky and white.

Now go assemble your delicious tacos!

Imageyum.

ImageAnd a blurry, rolled up version.

Image

Plays well with lime margaritas.

Leave a Reply

